China sanctions U.S. entity and officials over Xinjiang-related issues

China on Monday announced sanctions on a U.S. entity and four officials in response to U.S. sanctions on multiple Chinese officials in Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region.

The four U.S. officials are Republican Senator Marco Rubio, U.S. politician Samuel Dale Brownback, U.S. politician Ted Cruz, and U.S. Representative Chris Smith, announced Hua Chunying, spokesperson for the Chinese Foreign Ministry, at a daily news briefing.

The Chinese government is resolute in combating violent and terrorist forces and religious extremist forces, said Hua, adding that China will take further action as the situation develops.